Australian Dress Register Roundtable Meeting at the Powerhouse Museum, 19 February 2009.

Vision: To assist communities to unearth, document, care for, and share their stories, through the study of dress for everyone's future benefit.

The authority of the Australian Dress Register (ADR) is built on two levels, the ADR Advisory Committee, comprising of industry and dress specialists, and the ADR Team, a core working group of Powerhouse Museum staff.

Australian Dress Register Advisory Committee

The role of the ADR Advisory Committee is to provide strategic direction on policy, to advise on the development of the Australian Dress Register project, to promote the Register and to discuss significant matters concerning dress collections as they arise. The Advisory Committee aims to ensure that a broad representation of stakeholders have input into the development and management of the Register.

There are up to twenty seven members of the Advisory Committee, not including the Director of the Powerhouse Museum and representatives from the ADR Team. Membership represents key industry stakeholders and includes representatives from collecting and heritage organisations, dress specialists and contributors to the database and all Australian States and National bodies with an interest in dress collections.

Members are appointed for a term of two years. Members of the current ADR Advisory Committee will serve until June 2014 and will be eligible to re-nominate. Nominations will open bi-annually, and further information will be provided on this website closer to that time.

The Advisory Committee is chaired by the Director of the Powerhouse Museum and meets annually, with email consultation as issues and business require. The Committee may form smaller working parties, as necessary, to address specific issues or assist with the development of specific areas of the project.

ADR Advisory Committee members 2012-2014:

Jon AddisonQueen Victoria Museum and Gallery, LauncestonTAS
Rebekah ButlerMuseums and Gallery Services QueenslandQLD
Armando ChantUniversity of Technology, SydneyNSW
Cheryl CrillyNational Museum of AustraliaACT
Amanda JamesHistory SASA
Rach KirstenCreative Arts Advisor 7-12 Consultant DECNSW
Tamara LavrencicMuseums and Galleries NSWNSW
Sandra McKeeTAS Advisor, Secondary Education DECNSW
Michelle MaddisonMuseum of the RiverinaNSW
Justine MalinowskiThe Australian Museum of Clothing and TextilesNSW
Margaret MaynardUniversity of QueenslandQLD
Louise MitchellCollections consultantNSW
Peter McNeilUniversity of Technology, SydneyNSW
Ros O’DellTAFE Theatre CostumeNSW
Jenny OlmanSydney Living MuseumsNSW
Sarah Jane RennieSydney Living MuseumsNSW
Fiona RileyNIDA Theatre CostumeNSW
Margot RileyState Library of New South WalesNSW
Jennifer SandersCollections consultantNSW
Zoe ScottMuseum of Western Australia – Kalgoorlie BoulderWA
Debbie SommersPort Macquarie Historical SocietyNSW
Leigh SummersCoffs Harbour Regional Museum and Art GalleryNSW
Roger TrudgeonSovereign Hill Museums AssociationVIC
Wendy WattsGlen Innes Historical SocietyNSW
Kylie WinkworthHeritage and Collections ConsultantNSW
Tess EvansTextile Conservation ConsultantNSW

Australian Dress Register Team

The ADR Team is an internal Powerhouse group responsible for the day-to-day management of the Register, monitoring data and developing resources. It includes staff from the curatorial, conservation, registration and regional services departments in the Powerhouse Museum, ADR volunteers, and when appropriate, representatives from other key agencies involved in the project. The Team meets weekly and, with assistance from regional volunteer coordinators, provides training and support for the entry of data onto the Register.

ADR Team members 2012-14

  • Kate Chidlow, Conservation
  • Lindie Ward, Curatorial
  • Rebecca Pinchin, Regional Services
  • Einar Docker, Regional Services
  • Sarah Pointon, Registration
  • Sarah Bendall volunteer
  • Vanessa Jacob volunteer
  • Amy Butterfield volunteer
  • Lucy King, volunteer

Web and Social Technologies:

  • Luke Dearnley, technical development, phase 1
  • Carlos Arroyo, technical development, phase 2
  • Irma Havlicek, video production

Supported by Powerhouse staff

  • Glynis Jones, Curatorial
  • Nitsa Yioupros, Conservation Photography
  • Michael Myers, Conservation Photography
  • Judith Matheson, Editorial & Publishing
  • Anne Slam, Editorial & Publishing
  • Karla Bo Johnson, Editorial & Publishing

* Those listed under Australian Dress Register team who are not Powerhouse staff or volunteers.